Abbotsford West election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Abbotsford West election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:13 p.m.:

Michael de Jong of the BC Liberal Party has been re-elected as MLA in Abbotsford West, keeping the seat for the party. de Jong won 5,527 out of 11,562 counted votes (47.80 per cent) with 80 of 90 polls reporting.

Preet Rai of the NDP won 3,958 votes (34.23 per cent). Michael Henshall of the Conservative party won 1,108 votes (9.58 per cent). Kevin Eastwood of the Green party won 911 votes (7.88 per cent). Sukhi Gill of the BC Vision party won 58 votes (0.50 per cent).

As of 11:13 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 5,231 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 36,040 registered voters in Abbotsford West.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:13 p.m.:

1. Michael de Jong (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 5,527 votes (47.80 per cent)

2. Preet Rai - NDP
Votes: 3,958 votes (34.23 per cent)

3. Michael Henshall - Conservative party
Votes: 1,108 votes (9.58 per cent)

4. Kevin Eastwood - Green party
Votes: 911 votes (7.88 per cent)

5. Sukhi Gill - BC Vision party
Votes: 58 votes (0.50 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Abbotsford West election night result

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press