Alberta backbenchers critical of COVID rules include Speaker, former cabinet minister

·1 min read

EDMONTON — Almost half of the 40 backbenchers in Alberta Premier Jason Kenney's caucus are openly criticizing public-health restrictions meant to contain spread of the COVID-19 virus. Here's a list of the 18 who are speaking out and the constituencies they represent.

Michaela Glasgo, Brooks-Medicine Hat

Miranda Rosin, Banff-Kananaskis

Todd Loewen, Central Peace-Notley

Angela Pitt, Airdrie-East

Drew Barnes, Cypress-Medicine Hat

Jason Stephan, Red Deer-South

Tracy Allard, Grande Prairie

Roger Reid, Livingstone-Macleod

Nate Horner, Drumheller-Stettler

Nathan Cooper, Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills

Glenn van Dijken, Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock

Ron Orr, Lacombe-Ponoka

Dave Hanson, Bonnyville-Cold Lake-St. Paul

R.J. Sigurdson, Highwood

Mark Smith, Drayton Valley-Devon

Garth Rowswell, Vermilion-Lloydminster-Wainwright

Martin Long, West Yellowhead

Dan Williams, Peace River

This report by The Canadian Press was first published April 8, 2021

The Canadian Press