Alberta Order of Excellence nominations open

·2 min read

The province is now accepting nominations to the Alberta Order of Excellence, an award given each year to residents who have made remarkable contributions to their community, the province and beyond.

The Order recognizes people who have served with “great distinction and of singular excellence for, or on behalf of, the residents of Alberta.”

These people can come from all walks of life, including medicine, science, engineering, law, business, politics, education, community service, agriculture and arts.

The award was established in 1979 with the passing of the Alberta Order of Excellence Act. Since then, 182 individuals have received the award, including eight recipients in 2019.

The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, Chancellor of the Order of Excellence, presents new members with a medallion, personalized illuminated scroll and an official portrait at a special investiture ceremony at Government House in Edmonton.

At least one Alberta Order of Excellence winner had strong local ties. Francis Winspear, who was inducted in 1995, was raised in the hamlet of Namaka in Wheatland County after immigrating from Birmingham, UK. Winspear’s accomplishments include being president and CEO of at least 19 businesses and helping to found the Edmonton Symphony Society and Edmonton Opera, among other charitable pursuits. The home of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, The Francis Winspear Centre for Music, now bears his name.

Nominations are accepted year-round though must be received by Feb. 15 to be considered this year. Up to 10 individuals will be inducted this year. Those not selected in 2021 are considered for up to three years. To be eligible, a person must be a Canadian citizen, currently residing in Alberta, and must be able to attend the investiture ceremony. People cannot nominate themselves, their spouse or a member of their immediate family.

Sean Feagan, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, Strathmore Times