Andrea Pirlo wins Serie A Player of the Year award again, 7 Juventus players make Team of 2013/14

Ed Ran
Andrea Pirlo Best Player of the Year 2013-14 Serie A

Andrea Pirlo won the award for the third year in a row

Juventus midfielder Andrea Pirlo was awarded the Best Player in Serie A which is voted by players in the league. This is the third straight year he has won the Italian Professional Footballers' Association (AIC) award.

Pirlo followed in the footsteps of Zlatan Ibrahimovic who is the only other player to have won the award three times. The 35-year-old was instrumental in Juventus winning their third straight Serie A title in the 2013/14 season and the Italian was also selected in the Team of 2013/14.

I'm very honoured: Pirlo

After receiving the award at an event in Milan, Pirlo said: “It's always a great pleasure to win this award.

“It means that I've done well and that I am maintaining myself at the highest level.

“I'd like to thank all of my colleagues who have voted for me. I'm very honoured,” he added

Serie A team of the season for 2013/14

Seven players from the Scudetto winning Juventus team made it to the team of the year. Along with Pirlo, Gianluigi Buffon, Andrea Barzagli, Kwadwo Asamoah, Arturo Vidal, Paul Pogba and Carlos Tevez also made the cut.

The other four players who made it to the team were Napoli striker Gonzalo Higuain, Roma defender Medhi Benatia who is now at Bayern Munich, full back Matteo Darmian from Torino and his ex-teammate and striker Ciro Immobile who is now at Borussia Dortmund.


Serie A Footballer of the Year Winners
1997 Roberto Mancini Sampdoria
1998 Ronaldo Internazionale
1999 Christian Vieri Lazio
2000 Francesco Totti AS Roma
2001 Zinedine Zidane Juventus
2002 David Trezeguet Juventus
2003 Pavel Nedvěd Juventus
  Francesco Totti Roma
2004 Kaká Milan
2005 Alberto Gilardino Parma
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Juventus
2007 Kaká AC Milan
2008 Zlatan Ibrahimović Internazionale
2009 Zlatan Ibrahimović Internazionale
2010 Diego Milito Internazionale
2011 Zlatan Ibrahimović AC Milan
2012 Andrea Pirlo Juventus
2013 Andrea Pirlo Juventus
2014 Andrea Pirlo Juventus

Originally published on here