Music Monday: Chris Hadfield to sing along from space with Canadian schools

May 6th is Music Monday 2013, and this year's celebration was out of this world as the Coalition for Music Education received some help from Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, aboard the International Space Station.

The theme for Music Monday, this time around, was ‘Filling the Skies with Music’, and starting at 12 noon, EDT, the Coalition had a live webcast — the first "Earth to Orbit Music Monday" — which linked up with Chris Hadfield aboard the ISS, so that he could lead hundreds of thousands of school children (and many more other people) in singing ISS — Is Someone Singing.

[ Related: Canadian space robots honoured on new $5 bill ]

The event was held simultaneously across the country — at 9 a.m. Pacific Time, 10 a.m. Mountain Time, 11 a.m. Central Time, 12 p.m. Eastern Time, 1 p.m. Atlantic Time and 1:30 p.m. in Newfoundland and Labrador.

If you missed it, or couldn't manage to tune in at the time, NASA has you covered, with this video they recorded:

[ More Geekquinox: NASA sees incredible twister explode from the Sun ]

Geek out with the latest in science and weather.
Follow @ygeekquinox on Twitter!