Burnaby-Deer Lake election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Burnaby-Deer Lake election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:13 p.m.:

Anne Kang of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Burnaby-Deer Lake, keeping the seat for the party. Kang won 5,558 out of 10,077 counted votes (55.16 per cent) with 82 of 84 polls reporting.

Glynnis Chan of the BC Liberal Party won 3,275 votes (32.50 per cent). Mehreen Chaudry of the Green party won 1,244 votes (12.34 per cent).

As of 11:13 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 6,786 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 33,942 registered voters in Burnaby-Deer Lake.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:13 p.m.:

1. Anne Kang (incumbent) - NDP
Votes: 5,558 votes (55.16 per cent)

2. Glynnis Chan - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 3,275 votes (32.50 per cent)

3. Mehreen Chaudry - Green party
Votes: 1,244 votes (12.34 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Burnaby-Deer Lake election night result

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press