Burnaby-Edmonds election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Burnaby-Edmonds election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 9:55 p.m.:

Raj Chouhan of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Burnaby-Edmonds, keeping the seat for the party. Chouhan won 1,140 out of 1,815 counted votes (62.81 per cent) with 18 of 74 polls reporting.

Tripat Atwal of the BC Liberal Party won 477 votes (26.28 per cent). Iqbal Parekh of the Green party won 198 votes (10.91 per cent).

As of 9:55 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 54 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 30, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 7,232 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 36,483 registered voters in Burnaby-Edmonds.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 9:55 p.m.:

1. Raj Chouhan (incumbent) - NDP
Votes: 1,140 votes (62.81 per cent)

2. Tripat Atwal - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 477 votes (26.28 per cent)

3. Iqbal Parekh - Green party
Votes: 198 votes (10.91 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press