Burnaby-Lougheed election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Burnaby-Lougheed election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:14 p.m.:

Katrina Chen of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Burnaby-Lougheed, keeping the seat for the party. Chen won 6,960 out of 11,941 counted votes (58.29 per cent) with 103 of 111 polls reporting.

Tariq Malik of the BC Liberal Party won 3,178 votes (26.61 per cent). Andrew Williamson of the Green party won 1,584 votes (13.27 per cent). Dominique Paynter of the Libertarian party won 219 votes (1.83 per cent).

As of 11:14 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 8,530 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 36,814 registered voters in Burnaby-Lougheed.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:14 p.m.:

1. Katrina Chen (incumbent) - NDP Votes: 6,960 votes (58.29 per cent)

2. Tariq Malik - BC Liberal Party Votes: 3,178 votes (26.61 per cent)

3. Andrew Williamson - Green party Votes: 1,584 votes (13.27 per cent)

4. Dominique Paynter - Libertarian party Votes: 219 votes (1.83 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press