Chilliwack election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Chilliwack election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:20 p.m.:

Dan Coulter of the NDP has been elected as the new MLA in Chilliwack, a riding previously held by the BC Liberal Party. Coulter won 4,575 out of 11,918 counted votes (38.39 per cent) with 72 of 83 polls reporting.

John Martin of the BC Liberal Party won 3,511 votes (29.46 per cent). Diane Janzen of the Conservative party won 2,189 votes (18.37 per cent). Tim Cooper of the Green party won 1,294 votes (10.86 per cent). Josue Anderson, an Independent, won 205 votes (1.72 per cent). Andrew Coombes of the Libertarian party won 144 votes (1.21 per cent).

As of 11:20 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 5,809 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 34,039 registered voters in Chilliwack.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:20 p.m.:

1. Dan Coulter - NDP Votes: 4,575 votes (38.39 per cent)

2. John Martin (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party Votes: 3,511 votes (29.46 per cent)

3. Diane Janzen - Conservative party Votes: 2,189 votes (18.37 per cent)

4. Tim Cooper - Green party Votes: 1,294 votes (10.86 per cent)

5. Josue Anderson - Independent Votes: 205 votes (1.72 per cent)

6. Andrew Coombes - Libertarian party Votes: 144 votes (1.21 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press