Chilliwack-Kent election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Chilliwack-Kent election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:15 p.m.:

Kelli Paddon of the NDP is leading Laurie Throness of the BC Liberal Party by 212 votes in Chilliwack-Kent. Paddon won 4,418 out of 13,092 votes (33.75 per cent) with 74 of 90 polls reporting.

Laurie Throness of the BC Liberal Party won 4,206 votes (32.13 per cent). Jason Lum, an Independent, won 3,122 votes (23.85 per cent). Jeff Hammersmark of the Green party won 1,147 votes (8.76 per cent). Eli Gagné of the Libertarian party won 199 votes (1.52 per cent).

As of 11:15 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 7,650 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 36,809 registered voters in Chilliwack-Kent.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:15 p.m.:

1. Kelli Paddon - NDP Votes: 4,418 votes (33.75 per cent)

2. Laurie Throness (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party Votes: 4,206 votes (32.13 per cent)

3. Jason Lum - Independent Votes: 3,122 votes (23.85 per cent)

4. Jeff Hammersmark - Green party Votes: 1,147 votes (8.76 per cent)

5. Eli Gagné - Libertarian party Votes: 199 votes (1.52 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press