Evans, Beitel out; Fergusson, Gervais in

·2 min read

White City will have a new mayor and a pair of new councillors after voters spoke in Monday’s elections.

Brian Fergusson defeated incumbent mayor Bruce Evans by a 404-211 margin to take over as head of council. Darhl Vercaigne placed third with 51 votes of the 669 ballots cast town-wide.

Veteran councillors Howard Slack (312 votes) and Cecil Snyder (287 votes) were also defeated, by 76 votes and 101 votes respectively. They will be replaced by Bill Krzysik, who received 389 votes, and Kris Moen, who earned 439 votes.

Incumbent councillors Andrew Boschman (467 votes), Scott Moskal (420 votes), Hal Zorn (391 votes) and Rebecca Otitoju (388 votes) were all re-elected to another four years in office.

The RM of Lajord will also have a new head of council, as incumbent Erwin Beitel lost his re-election bid to Division 7 councillor Armond Gervais by a 216-85 vote margin. In the race to fill the seat vacated by Gervais, Mason Resch defeated Brad Lenz by a 69-21 count.

In the RM of Montmartre, incumbent reeve Bernard Kotylak held off a challenge from councillor Alain Perras to win by a 152-83 margin.

The village of Montmartre also saw its incumbent retain his seat as mayor Rob Chittenden won out over challenger Tracy Gibson by a 161-72 vote split.

A contested councillor race in the village further saw incumbent Tricia Colvin (201 votes), along with newcomers Jordon Kotylak (173 votes), David Little (171 votes) and Shae-Lynn George (144) elected. Denis Kotylak (82 votes), incumbent Henry Stoppler (72 votes) and Lisa VandeVelde (40 votes) were unsuccessful in their bids for council.

There was a similar changeover in Pilot Butte as mayor Peggy Chorney defeated challenger Nat Ross 429-92 to keep her post, while three newcomers will also join council there. Those individuals are Scott Einarson (283), Zac Forster (244) and Fred Salermo (239). Three of the four incumbent councillors who ran again — Jean Lowenberger (224 votes), Lydia Riopka (288) and Ed Sigmeth (268) — were re-elected, while incumbent Teresa Blommaert (194), Kelly Feltis (128), Scott Hendriks (202), Leanne Rempel (136), Arcady Rozental (86), Joshua Schmidt (204) and John Wegman (144) were defeated.

Further coverage and complete election results from across the local area will be published in our Nov. 19 edition.

Keith Borkowsky, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Quad Town Forum