Five Aurora graduates earn Give Back Awards

·2 min read

As the end of the 2021-2022 school year appears on the horizon, five Aurora Grade 12 students have secured bursaries from Magna International to further their post-secondary education.

Magna’s Neighbourhood Network announced the 2022 recipients of their annual Give Back Awards on Monday.

The awards were founded by former Newmarket-Aurora MP Belinda Stronach to recognize students not for their academic prowess but rather how they have helped contribute to their school communities and their communities as a whole.

The program has continued under the direction of Neighbourhood Network, which connects volunteers with community organizations that need a hand, and has since honoured hundreds of students from each community they serve, including Aurora, King, Newmarket, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, and most recently Whitchurch-Stouffville.

Aurora recipients this year include Claire Johnson, a student at Newmarket’s Sir William Mulock Secondary School, Allyson Surgenor of Dr. G.W. Williams Secondary School, Aurora High School student Julia Scolamiero, Spencer Thompson of St. Andrew’s College, and Aurora High School student Katherine Viney.

Award-winning students attending school in Aurora who live in neighbouring municipalities include Newmarket resident David Buckley of St. Andrew’s College, Richmond Hill’s Eileen Danaee of ESC Renaissance, Newmarket’s Artin Khiabani of Dr. G.W. Williams Secondary School, Bradford’s Joela Xhumri (ESC Renaissance), and Newmarket’s Christina Xue (Dr. G.W. Williams Secondary School).

Additional recipients include Caitlin Barton (Newmarket), Munira Chakera (Whitchurch-Stouffville), Daneika Hammith (Newmarket), Mira Kindo-Yeung (Newmarket), Katelin Martin (King), Lindsay McMurter (Newmarket), Elora Morrison-Burgess (Georgina – Keswick), Emily Peelar (King), Keesha Rajkumar (Georgina – Sutton), and Emma Roccatani (King).

“The impact these students have had on their peers and the community at large is inspiring, with our winners having collectively volunteered over 5,000 hours of their time to help others!” said Erin Cerenzia, Manager of Community Relations for Neighbourhood Network. “Neighbourhood Network is so happy to celebrate their exceptional volunteer achievements, especially during these difficult times.”

Recipients will receive their awards at a ceremony next Thursday, April 28.

Brock Weir, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Auroran

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting