Five more N.W.T. communities eligible for federal Nutrition North subsidy

·1 min read

YELLOWKNIFE — The federal government says five more communities in the Northwest Territories can now receive the Nutrition North subsidy.

Retailers in Nahanni Butte, Tsiigehtchic, Fort McPherson, Inuvik and Tuktoyaktuk can get the subsidy on some food and other items sold in stores during ice freeze up and breakup, when food needs to be flown in.

Premier Caroline Cochrane says the cost of food goes up significantly every year when communities are no longer accessible by ice road.

Cochrane says expanding the program to the five communities will give more residents year-round access and certainty to affordable food.

With the change in N.W.T., 19 out of its 33 communities qualify for Nutrition North subsidies.

The federal program aims to subsidize food and some household items in 121 isolated and northern communities in Canada.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Aug. 3, 2021.

The Canadian Press

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting