Kamloops-South Thompson election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Kamloops-South Thompson election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:17 p.m.:

Todd Stone of the BC Liberal Party has been re-elected as MLA in Kamloops-South Thompson, keeping the seat for the party. Stone won 9,088 out of 17,301 counted votes (52.53 per cent) with 96 of 98 polls reporting.

Anna Thomas of the NDP won 5,293 votes (30.59 per cent). Dan Hines of the Green party won 2,920 votes (16.88 per cent).

As of 11:17 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 8,137 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 42,054 registered voters in Kamloops-South Thompson.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:17 p.m.:

1. Todd Stone (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party Votes: 9,088 votes (52.53 per cent)

2. Anna Thomas - NDP Votes: 5,293 votes (30.59 per cent)

3. Dan Hines - Green party Votes: 2,920 votes (16.88 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press