Keep the pencil sharp! Oct. 18 municipal elections on deck

·3 min read

Canada has just voted on the federal level but civic duty continues. Nominations for our municipal elections closed Monday and noon and Albertans will return to the polls Oct. 18.

Here’s the roundup for Town & Country News readers:

The Town of Beaverlodge will elect six councillors; candidates are:

Terry Dueck (incumbent)

Cyndi Corbett (incumbent)

Hugh Graw (incumbent)

Gena Jones (incumbent)

Judy Kokotilo-Bekkerus (incumbent)

Cal Mosher (incumbent)

Cody Moulds

Bill Martin

Victoria Hudson

Gary Rycroft will be acclaimed as mayor.

The Town of Sexsmith will elect six councillors; candidates are:

Bruce Black (incumbent)

Clinton Froehlick (incumbent)

Ken Hildebrand (incumbent)

Jonathan Siggelkow (incumbent)

Isak Skjaveland (incumbent)

Dennis Stredulinsky (incumbent)

Daycie Bohning

Kate Potter will be acclaimed mayor.

The Town of Wembley will elect six councillors; candidates are:

Anna Underwood (incumbent)

Tyrel Johnson (incumbent)

Sean McCallum (incumbent)

Shaun Baker

Robert Berlasty

Alicia McDonald

Tanya Skinner

Becky Ward

Arcacia Wegleitner

Bailee Wills

Kelly Ross Peterson, former councillor, was acclaimed mayor as no other nominations were entered for the mayoral race in Wembley.

The County of Grande Prairie will have elections in Divisions 2, 4, 5, 8 and 9.

Candidates in Division 2 are:

Kurt Alan Balderston

Darcy Karbashewski

Talbot Reeves Rycroft

Thomas Walter Tharp

Candidates in Division 4:

Maurissa Hietland

Calvin Maple

Steve John Zimmerman

Candidates in Division 5:

Robert (Bob) Glen Marshall (incumbent)

Kevin Robert Gingles

Robert Hill

Candidates in Division 8:

Karen Rosvold (incumbent)

Cheryl Diane Van Eerden

Candidates Division 9:

Pam M. Badger

Dwayne Badry

Robert (Bob) Louis Chrenek

Sheryle Runhart

In Division 1, Amanda Lynn Frayn will be acclaimed as councillor.

In Division 3, Leanne Carol Beaupre (incumbent) will be acclaimed as councillor.

In Division 6, William Peter Harris (incumbent) will be acclaimed as councillor.

In Division 7, Brian Glenn Peterson will be acclaimed as councillor. Tracy Ray withdrew.

With the municipal elections also comes the school board trustees elections.

In the Peace Wapiti School Division only Wards, 1, 5, and 7 will see elections; the remaining six wards were acclaimed.

Ward 1 Eaglesham/Woking/Rycroft candidates:

Kari Scheers

Martine Elizabeth Piebiak

Ward 5 Grande Prairie West/Wembley candidates:

Cameron Donald

Lynn Driedger

Wendy Kelm

Ward 7 Grande Prairie East/Grovedale candidates:

Lisa Arlint

Stefanie Clarke

Blaine Riding acclaimed in Ward 2 Bonanza/Savanna/Spirit River.

Lori Grant acclaimed in Ward 3 Beaverlodge/Elmworth.

Dwayne Speager acclaimed in Ward 4 Hythe/LaGlace.

Dale Crane acclaimed in Ward 6 Sexsmith/Teepee Creek.

Mildred (Millie) Turner acclaimed in Ward 8 Ridgevalley.

Dana McIntosh acclaimed in Ward 9 Clairmont/Bezanson.

The Grande Prairie and District Catholic Schools will be electing five trustees in Ward 1 and one member in Ward 2 and 3.

Ward 1 candidates:

Michelle Boisvert (incumbent)

Michael Ouellette (incumbent)

Alyeska Silvester-Degen (incumbent)

John Croken

Jermiah English

Jason H. Gunther

Doris Implica

Rick Sakundiak

Russ Snoble

Michelle Gemmell acclaimed in Ward 2.

Ward 3 did not have any nominations. Those interested in putting their name in for nomination can do so at the Catholic Education Centre from 10 a.m. to noon until Sept. 27. If a nomination is received in that time, nominations will close.

County of Grande Prairie voters can vote in advance polls on Oct. 13 from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. and Oct. 16 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the TARA centre at Evergreen Park, the Hythe Legion and the Sexsmith Civic Centre.

In Beaverlodge, advance polls will be open on Oct. 9 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Oct. 13 from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the community centre.

In Sexsmith, advance polls will be open on Oct. 16 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Sexsmith and Area Community Centre.

Wembley currently does not have any advance polls set.

Town and Country News will continue to cover the municipal election as we head up to election day.

Jesse Boily, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, Town & Country News

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting