Kootenay West election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Kootenay West election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:18 p.m.:

Katrine Conroy of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Kootenay West, keeping the seat for the party. Conroy won 1,731 out of 3,014 counted votes (57.43 per cent) with 19 of 88 polls reporting.

Andrew Duncan of the Green party won 621 votes (20.60 per cent). Corbin Kelley of the BC Liberal Party won 291 votes (9.65 per cent). Glen Byle of the Conservative party won 283 votes (9.39 per cent). Ed Varney, an Independent, won 58 votes (1.92 per cent). Fletcher Quince, an Independent, won 30 votes (1.00 per cent).

As of 11:18 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 4,111 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 30,573 registered voters in Kootenay West.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:18 p.m.:

1. Katrine Conroy (incumbent) - NDP

Votes: 1,731 votes (57.43 per cent)

2. Andrew Duncan - Green party

Votes: 621 votes (20.60 per cent)

3. Corbin Kelley - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 291 votes (9.65 per cent)

4. Glen Byle - Conservative party

Votes: 283 votes (9.39 per cent)

5. Ed Varney - Independent

Votes: 58 votes (1.92 per cent)

6. Fletcher Quince - Independent

Votes: 30 votes (1.00 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press