Langford-Juan de Fuca election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Langford-Juan de Fuca election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:19 p.m.:

John Horgan of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Langford-Juan de Fuca, keeping the seat for the party. Horgan won 5,530 out of 8,477 counted votes (65.24 per cent) with 69 of 80 polls reporting.

Gord Baird of the Green party won 1,643 votes (19.38 per cent). Kelly Darwin of the BC Liberal Party won 1,249 votes (14.73 per cent). Tyson Strandlund of the Communist Party of BC won 55 votes (0.65 per cent).

As of 11:19 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 12,120 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 39,176 registered voters in Langford-Juan de Fuca.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:19 p.m.:

1. John Horgan (incumbent) - NDP

Votes: 5,530 votes (65.24 per cent)

2. Gord Baird - Green party

Votes: 1,643 votes (19.38 per cent)

3. Kelly Darwin - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 1,249 votes (14.73 per cent)

4. Tyson Strandlund - Communist Party of BC

Votes: 55 votes (0.65 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press