Leader hosting all candidate-candidates night on September 29

·2 min read

Eganville – The Leader will be sponsoring an all-candidates night for Bonnechere Valley Township on Thursday, September 29 at 7 p.m. at the Eganville Legion.

“We are pleased to have the event moderated by Fred Blackstein, a Laurentian Valley resident, avid volunteer and Order of Canada recipient,” Leader Publisher Gerald Tracey said, adding Mr. Blackstein has chaired more than 20 similar events.

The evening will begin at 7 p.m. and the format will be for each candidate to have a chance to give their prepared opening remarks. Two minutes are allotted for council candidates and four minutes for mayoral candidates. This will be followed by a Q&A session. The questions will be submitted and approved by a panel. The questions can be submitted as people are entering the hall. At the end of the evening all candidates will be allowed to give closing remarks, with one minute for each candidate.

There is a great deal of interest in the local election with four candidates running for mayor and 10 for council. Mr. Tracey noted this is the highest ever in the 20 years since amalgamation. All five members of council are seeking re-election. It is also the first election without a ward system, so all ratepayers have a chance to mark the ballot for one mayor and four councillors. Prior to this, councillors were voted in with the ward system and ratepayers were only allowed to vote for the mayor and the candidates in their ward.

Mr. Tracey said he hopes the community will take the time to attend and he is anticipating a large turnout.

“We have a number of new residents in the township and this will give all of us a chance to meet and hear the candidates,” he said. “We look forward to seeing a good crowd there.”

Further details on the format will be provided.

Candidates for mayor are incumbent Jennifer Murphy, Leanne Panke, Zig Mintha and Jackie Agnew. Candidates for councillor (four to be elected) are Kayla Desjardins, Merv Buckwald (incumbent), Kimberly Lehman, Kelly (Lavigne) Reinert, John Epps, Tim Schison (incumbent), Jack Roesner (incumbent), Shawn Henry, Tracey Sanderson and Brent Patrick (incumbent).

Debbi Christinck, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Eganville Leader