Louie re-elected as OIB Chief

·1 min read

Osoyoos Indian Band Chief Clarence Louie was re-elected to his 18th term as OIB Chief.

Louie received 181 votes while runner up Ron Hall had 57 votes and Sandra Falkus 32 votes.

The election saw 11 candidates for council, with incumbent councilors Nathan McGinnis (145 votes), Veronica (Ronny) McGinnis (135 votes), Leona Baptiste (152 votes) and Sammy Jo Louie (162 votes) retain their seats. Newly elected councilor Sonya Jensen received the most votes for councilor with 177.

Louie said he appreciates the vote of confidence from the community once again.

"(We) will have a good, experienced Council and one new council member (Sonya Jensen) who has proven to be a good worker who works with the youth," Louie told the Times-Chronicle in an email.

Louie was re-elected to his 18th term as Osoyoos Indian Band Chief, a position he was first elected to in 1984.

Dale Boyd, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, Times-Chronicle