Mattagami First Nation heading to the polls tomorrow

Mattagami First Nation members go to the polls on Saturday.

Voting for chief and council members will be open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 30 at the Mattagami Complex at 75 Helen St. in Mattagami First Nation.

All ballots will be counted at the Mattagami Complex immediately after the polls close, according to the notice of election from the First Nation.

Members will be voting for chief and six council members.

The nominees for chief are incumbent Chad Boissoneau, Jennifer Constant and Walter James Naveau.

Boissoneau was elected chief for the first time in 2017.

There are 17 candidates for the six council member positions: Kourtney Baulne, Brent Boissoneau, Joyce Constant, Wendy Debastos, Janelle Golinowski, Joshua Goudreau, Cindy McKay, Clayton Albert McKay, Dereck McKay, Betty Naveau, Devin Naveau, Faye Naveau, Gary Naveau, Jessica Naveau, Leonard Naveau Sr., Morris Naveau and Sue Prince.

Mattagami First Nation is located about 20 kilometres northeast of Gogama.

This is the first time the Mattagami First Nation’s elections are running under the First Nations Elections Act.

Before 2023, the elections fell under the Indian Act elections system.

The chief and council serve a four-year term instead of the two-year terms under the previous system.

TimminsToday will report results as they become available.

Amanda Rabski-McColl, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter,