Meili names shadow cabinet

·2 min read

Regina– The final count for the Oct. 26 provincial election is submitted on Nov. 7, but the numbers have stabilized sufficiently that New Democratic Party (NDP) Leader Ryan Meili appointed his shadow cabinet on Nov. 3.

The NDP picked up two seats late in the game as mail-in ballots were a factor in the outcome. Those seats were Saskatoon Meewasin, Meili’s own seat, and Regina University, which was taken by newcomer Aleana Young.

The new shadow cabinet will be in place in time for the expected fall sitting of the Legislature.

“Our team of Saskatchewan New Democrat MLAs is full of new faces and new energy to hold the Sask. Party government to account and put people first,” Meili said in a release on Nov. 3.

The new shadow cabinet with critic responsibilities is as follows:

Ryan Meili is Leader of the Opposition and will look after Executive Council, Intergovernmental Affairs and Francophone Affairs.

Nicole Sarauer is Deputy Leader of the Opposition, and has the portfolios of Justice, Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority, SaskGaming, Corrections and Policing, and the Provincial Capital Commission.

Carla Beck is Caucus Chair, and will take care of Education, Early Learning and Labour.

Buckley Belanger is responsible for Highways, Forestry, Global Transportation Hub and the Regina Bypass.

Jennifer Bowes has Advanced Education, Innovation, Status of Women and Associate Critic for Labour.

Meara Conway is responsible for Social Services, Housing, Human Rights and Community-Based Organizations

Matt Love’s responsibilities include Municipal Affairs, Tourism, Seniors, Ethics and Democracy, Parks, Culture and Sport and Deputy Caucus Chair.

Vicki Mowat is critic for Health and House Leader

Betty Nippi-Albright has First Nations and Métis Relations, Truth and Reconciliation and the Public Service Commission.

Erika Ritchie has Environment, Energy and Resources, SaskWater, Water Security Agency and SaskEnergy.

Doyle Vermette will take care of Northern Affairs and Mental Health and Addictions.

Trent Wotherspoon will handle Agriculture, Finance, SaskTel, Agriculture, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation, Crown Investments Corporation and Public Accounts Committee Chair.

Aleana Young has Economy and Jobs, Immigration, Trade and Export Development, Sask Builds, Central Services, Saskatchewan Government Insurance, Sask Power and Deputy House Leader

“This strong and diverse team will act to push for the needs of Saskatchewan families in the face of Covid-19,” said Meili. “Our first priority is to ensure critical investments are made to protect families facing economic uncertainty, the kids in our schools, seniors and the most vulnerable. I am confident that this team will get results for the people of our province.”

Meili also announced that Sally Housser will take on the role of Interim Chief of Staff, taking over from Adrienne King.

“I want to thank Adrienne for her contribution to our caucus and our movement,” said Ryan. “Sally is capable, experienced and ready to get to work with our incredible team of MLAs.”

Brian Zinchuk, Local Journalism Initiative reporter, Estevan Mercury