Mid Island-Pacific Rim election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Mid Island-Pacific Rim election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:19 p.m.:

Josie Osborne of the NDP has been elected as the new MLA in Mid Island-Pacific Rim, keeping the seat for the party. Osborne won 10,071 out of 17,806 counted votes (56.56 per cent) with 98 of 100 polls reporting.

Evan Jolicoeur of the Green party won 3,785 votes (21.26 per cent). Helen Poon of the BC Liberal Party won 3,111 votes (17.47 per cent). Graham Hughes, an Independent, won 494 votes (2.77 per cent). Robert Alexander Clarke of the Libertarian party won 345 votes (1.94 per cent).

As of 11:19 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 7,517 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 39,341 registered voters in Mid Island-Pacific Rim.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:19 p.m.:

1. Josie Osborne - NDP

Votes: 10,071 votes (56.56 per cent)

2. Evan Jolicoeur - Green party

Votes: 3,785 votes (21.26 per cent)

3. Helen Poon - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 3,111 votes (17.47 per cent)

4. Graham Hughes - Independent

Votes: 494 votes (2.77 per cent)

5. Robert Alexander Clarke - Libertarian party

Votes: 345 votes (1.94 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press