What is the minimum age requirement to marry in Texas? It’s pretty young. Here’s the law

In Texas, minors can get legally married at the same time they can get their driver’s license.

The state allows 16-year-olds to go to the county clerk’s office and tie the knot if they have parental consent or a court order allowing them to do so, according to the state attorney general’s website. Unfortunately, you just wouldn’t be able to enjoy any celebratory champagne.

For those under 16 — 13 for girls and 14 for boys — a court order is needed to marry in Texas. In Tarrant County, marriage licenses can be obtained remotely.

There are 39 other states in the union, like Texas, where the minimum age required to marry is 16. In the U.S., 12 is technically the youngest age you can get married with parental consent. We say technically because Mississippi and California have no age limit on marriage as long as there is guardian approval.

In Massachusetts, girls can be as young as 12 and boys as young as 14, to marry. Hawaii follows the age minimum at 15 years old. The same is true in Missouri, but minors can only obtain a marriage license in special circumstances.


⚡ More trending stories from our newsroom:

Fort Worth is not Dallas. Why can’t the rest of the world get this? A frustration felt deep in Cowtown

Whataburger iced coffee is free — for one day only. Here’s when and what to know

Take a look at TCU's new football uniforms for this season


If obtaining a marriage license without a parent’s permission, the only state that allow minors to marry is Mississippi — which allows 17-year-old boys and 15-year-old girls to get married on their own.

Every state has different laws, here is the full lists of states and their minimum age requirement for marriage:

Alabama: 16. Parental consent not required if the minor was previously married. Other statutory requirements apply.

Alaska: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent.

Arizona: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental and judicial consent.

Arkansas: Male: 17, female: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

California: No age limits. Other statutory requirements apply such as a judge’s approval.

Colorado: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent.

Connecticut: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental and judicial consent.

Delaware: Male: 18, female: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent.

Florida: 16. Parental consent not required if the minor was previously married. Younger parties may obtain a license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

Georgia: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child. Parental consent and/or permission of the judge required.

Hawaii: 15. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required.

Idaho: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent.

Illinois: 16. Judicial consent may be given when parents refuse to consent.

Indiana: 17. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

Iowa: 16. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required.

Kansas: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental and judicial consent.

Kentucky: 18. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required.

Louisiana: 18. Younger parties may marry with parental consent.

Maine: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent.

Maryland: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child. If parties are at least 16 years of age, proof of age and consent of parties in person are required. If a parent is ill an affidavit by the incapacitated parent and a physician’s affidavit required.

Massachusetts: Male: 14, female: 12. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required.

Michigan: 16

Minnesota: 16. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required.

Mississippi: No age limits. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required for minors.

Missouri: 15. Younger parties may obtain license in special circumstances.

Montana: 16. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required.

Nebraska: 17

Nevada: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent.

New Hampshire: Male: 14, female: 13. Below age of consent parties need parental consent and permission of judge, no younger than 14 for males and 13 for females.

New Jersey: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

New Mexico: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child. Younger parties may obtain license in special circumstances.

New York: 16. Below age of consent parties need parental consent and permission of judge, no younger than 14 for males and 13 for females.

North Carolina: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

North Dakota: 16

Ohio: Male: 18. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required. Female: 16, Younger parties may marry with parental consent. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

Oklahoma: 16. Younger parties may marry with parental consent. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

Oregon: 17. If a party has no parent residing within state, and one party has residence in state for six months, no permission required.

Pennsylvania: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in special circumstances.

Rhode Island: Male: 18, female: 18. Younger parties may obtain license in special circumstances.

South Carolina: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

South Dakota: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

Tennessee: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in special circumstances.

Texas: 16. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required. Below age of consent parties need parental consent and permission of judge, no younger than 14 for males and 13 for females.

Utah: 16. Parental consent not required if minor was previously married.

Vermont: 16. Parental consent and/or permission of judge required.

Virginia: 16. Parental consent not required if minor was previously married. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

Washington: 17. Younger parties may obtain license in special circumstances.

West Virginia: 18. Younger parties may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child.

Wisconsin: 16

Wyoming: 16. Younger parties may obtain license in special circumstances.

District of Columbia: 16. Parental consent not required if minor was previously married.