More candidates in neighbouring municipal elections

·2 min read

MORRISBURG – A little more than a month remains in the nomination period for the 2022 municipal elections in Ontario and more candidates in the region have stepped forward.

The mayoral race in Edwardsburgh-Cardinal expanded last week as current deputy mayor Tory Deschamps threw his hat into the mayor’s race, running against two-term incumbent Pat Sayeau. Stephen Dillabough, who currently serves as a councillor in Edwardsburgh-Cardinal filed his nomination papers for deputy mayor. Ward 1 (Cardinal) has one nominee so far as councillor Hugh Cameron seeks re-election. Ward 3 (Spencerville and area) has one nominee, Chris Ward. In Ward 2 (Johnstown and area) there are no nominees as of July 11.

In North Dundas, Gary Annable filed his nomination papers seeking a second term as councillor. He is the third incumbent seeking re-election. Mayor Tony Fraser is running for his second term as head of the council table. Councillor Theresa Bergeron is running for deputy mayor.

The election race in South Stormont is off to a slow start with only two candidates running for councillor. Incumbent councillor Jennifer MacIsaac is running for re-election, and fellow Ingleside-resident Tammy Spittal is looking to join the council table this fall. No candidates for mayor or deputy mayor have filed nomination papers as of July 11.

North Stormont’s election race remains unchanged with Francois Landry the only candidate for mayor, and Steve Densham the lone candidate for deputy mayor.

In South Glengarry, Lyle Warden is the sole candidate for mayor, current councillor Martin Lang is running for deputy mayor, and current deputy mayor Stephanie Jaworski is running for a second term as councillor.

The election race in North Glengarry remains relatively unchanged. Brian Caddell filed his nomination papers for Lochiel Ward councillor June 30. Maxville Ward is the lone council position without a nominee. Incumbent Mayor Jamie MacDonald is running for re-election, as is Deputy Mayor Carma Williams, Kenyon Ward councillor Jeff Manley, Alexandria Ward councillor Michael Madden, and Councillor-at-Large Jacques Massie. All are unopposed as of July 11.

Three candidates are vying to be mayor of the City of Cornwall. Incumbent Glen Grant, councillor Justin Towndale, and James Leroux are nominated for this fall’s election. Six candidates are in the running for councillor including Sarah Good, Christopher Leclair, Elaine MacDonald (incumbent), David Murphy, Fred Ngoundjo, and Jason Riley.

Candidates have until August 19 at 2 p.m. to file nomination papers.

Phillip Blancher, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Morrisburg Leader

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting