More join municipal election races in SDG/Cornwall

·2 min read

CORNWALL – More names have started to come forward to run in the fall municipal election now that the provincial election contest is over.

Since the last update by The Leader three weeks ago, all municipalities in Cornwall and SDG Counties have more candidates.

Current South Dundas deputy mayor Kirsten Gardner and former South Dundas councillor Bill Ewing filed their nomination papers for the mayoral election within seven hours of each other on June 10. Mayor Steven Byvelds announced in May he would not seek relection for the position. Councillor Donald Lewis filed his nomination papers for the deputy mayor election, also on June 10. No candidates have yet come forward to contest Lewis, or run for councillor. Councillor Lloyd Wells is the only current member of South Dundas council who has not yet announced his intention. After three terms, Archie Mellan is retiring from muncipal politics.

In North Dundas, current councillor Theresa Bergeron filed her papers to run for deputy mayor. Bergeron was recently appointed to council to fill the seat vacated by the resignation of Tyler Hoy. Mayor Tony Fraser is also vying for re-election this fall and so far is unopposed.

A second candidate has joined the councillor race in South Stormont. Ingleside-resident Tammy Spittal is the latest candidate for that race, joining incumbent councillor Jennifer MacIsaac.

North Stormont has two people running for council. Current deputy mayor Frank Landry is running for mayor this fall, while Steve Densham is running for deputy mayor.

South Glengarry Mayor Lyle Warden is running for re-election, Councillor Martin Lang is running for deputy mayor, while current deputy mayor Stephanie Jaworski is running for councillor.

Five-out-of-seven members of the current North Glengarry council are seeking re-election in October. Mayor Jamie MacDonald, Deputy Mayor Carma Williams, Councillor-at-Large Jacques Masse, Alexandria Ward Councillor, Michael Madden, and Kenyon Ward Councillor Jeff Manley have all filed their nomination papers.

Three are running for the mayor’s chair in the City of Cornwall. Current Mayor Glen Grant, current councillor Justin Towndale, and resident James Leroux have filed nomination paperwork. Sarah Good, David Murphy, and Jason Riley are running for council.

In SDG Counties, there have been no nominations for school board trustees so far. However in Cornwall two have filed nomination papers.

Ryan MacKay is the only candidate running so far for the English-Public school trustee position; Michel Pilon is the only candidate for the French-Catholic board.

Nominations for municipal elections in Ontario close at 2 p.m. on August 19. Election day is October 24.

Phillip Blancher, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Morrisburg Leader

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting