Nanaimo election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Nanaimo election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:20 p.m.:

Sheila Malcolmson of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Nanaimo, keeping the seat for the party. Malcolmson won 8,041 out of 15,244 counted votes (52.75 per cent) with 105 of 107 polls reporting.

Lia Versaevel of the Green party won 3,705 votes (24.30 per cent). Kathleen Jones of the BC Liberal Party won 3,498 votes (22.95 per cent).

As of 11:20 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 11,468 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 43,375 registered voters in Nanaimo.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:20 p.m.:

1. Sheila Malcolmson (incumbent) - NDP

Votes: 8,041 votes (52.75 per cent)

2. Lia Versaevel - Green party

Votes: 3,705 votes (24.30 per cent)

3. Kathleen Jones - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 3,498 votes (22.95 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press