Nanaimo-North Cowichan election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Nanaimo-North Cowichan election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:20 p.m.:

Doug Routley of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Nanaimo-North Cowichan, keeping the seat for the party. Routley won 7,347 out of 15,616 counted votes (47.05 per cent) with 93 of 95 polls reporting.

Chris Istace of the Green party won 4,968 votes (31.81 per cent). Duck Paterson of the BC Liberal Party won 3,301 votes (21.14 per cent).

As of 11:20 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 9,956 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 40,266 registered voters in Nanaimo-North Cowichan.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:20 p.m.:

1. Doug Routley (incumbent) - NDP

Votes: 7,347 votes (47.05 per cent)

2. Chris Istace - Green party

Votes: 4,968 votes (31.81 per cent)

3. Duck Paterson - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 3,301 votes (21.14 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press