Nelson-Creston election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Nelson-Creston election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:20 p.m.:

Brittny Anderson of the NDP has been elected as the new MLA in Nelson-Creston, keeping the seat for the party. Anderson won 4,947 out of 12,412 counted votes (39.86 per cent) with 67 of 78 polls reporting.

Nicole Charlwood of the Green party won 4,211 votes (33.93 per cent). Tanya Finley of the BC Liberal Party won 2,958 votes (23.83 per cent). Terry Tiessen of the Libertarian party won 296 votes (2.38 per cent).

As of 11:20 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 4,041 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 27,338 registered voters in Nelson-Creston.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:20 p.m.:

1. Brittny Anderson - NDP

Votes: 4,947 votes (39.86 per cent)

2. Nicole Charlwood - Green party

Votes: 4,211 votes (33.93 per cent)

3. Tanya Finley - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 2,958 votes (23.83 per cent)

4. Terry Tiessen - Libertarian party

Votes: 296 votes (2.38 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press