North Island election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — North Island election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:21 p.m.:

Michele Babchuk of the NDP has been elected as the new MLA in North Island, keeping the seat for the party. Babchuk won 3,999 out of 8,920 counted votes (44.83 per cent) with 79 of 102 polls reporting.

Alexandra Morton of the Green party won 2,202 votes (24.69 per cent). Norm Facey of the BC Liberal Party won 2,089 votes (23.42 per cent). John Twigg of the Conservative party won 630 votes (7.06 per cent).

As of 11:21 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 8,053 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 40,264 registered voters in North Island.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:21 p.m.:

1. Michele Babchuk - NDP

Votes: 3,999 votes (44.83 per cent)

2. Alexandra Morton - Green party

Votes: 2,202 votes (24.69 per cent)

3. Norm Facey - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 2,089 votes (23.42 per cent)

4. John Twigg - Conservative party

Votes: 630 votes (7.06 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press