Nova Scotia restricts non-essential travel from all provinces except P.E.I. and N.L.

·1 min read

HALIFAX — A steady increase in COVID-19 cases has prompted Nova Scotia to impose travel restrictions that will cause a further delay in the reopening of the Atlantic travel bubble.

Premier Iain Rankin announced today that starting Thursday at 8 a.m., people from outside Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador, won't be allowed to enter the province unless their travel is essential or they are permanent residents.

Rankin says the move is necessary because of the rise in virus cases related to travel from outside the province.

Chief medical officer of health Dr. Robert Strang expressed concern about a recent 400 per cent increase in travel into the province across the border with New Brunswick.

The premier says the new travel measures will be in place for a four-week period meaning it is "safe to assume" the rescheduled May 3 reopening of the Atlantic bubble is "not going to happen."

Nova Scotia is reporting nine new cases of COVID-19, including three related to travel from outside the Atlantic region, and now has 68 reported active infections.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published April 20, 2021.

The Canadian Press