Oak Bay-Gordon Head election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Oak Bay-Gordon Head election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:21 p.m.:

Murray Rankin of the NDP has been elected as the new MLA in Oak Bay-Gordon Head, a riding previously held by an independent. Rankin won 6,022 out of 12,633 counted votes (47.67 per cent) with 87 of 96 polls reporting.

Nicole Duncan of the Green party won 3,573 votes (28.28 per cent). Roxanne Helme of the BC Liberal Party won 2,969 votes (23.50 per cent). Florian Castle of the Communist Party of BC won 69 votes (0.55 per cent).

As of 11:21 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 15,918 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 40,048 registered voters in Oak Bay-Gordon Head.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:21 p.m.:

1. Murray Rankin - NDP

Votes: 6,022 votes (47.67 per cent)

2. Nicole Duncan - Green party

Votes: 3,573 votes (28.28 per cent)

3. Roxanne Helme - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 2,969 votes (23.50 per cent)

4. Florian Castle - Communist Party of BC

Votes: 69 votes (0.55 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press