And they’re off: The race is on to be Aurora’s representatives at Queen’s Park

·2 min read

The 2022 Provincial Election is formally underway.

The Ontario Legislature was formally dissolved on Tuesday afternoon, clearing the way for the June 2 election.

Once again, Aurora will be divided into two Provincial ridings at Wellington Street: Newmarket-Aurora on the north and Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill at the south.

In Aurora’s south riding, incumbent Progressive Conservative candidate Michael Parsa is seeking re-election against first-time Liberal candidate Marjan Kasirlou, perennial Libertarian candidate Serge Korovitsyn and Ontario Party candidate Catherine Dellerba.

Candidates for the Ontario NDP and Green Party in Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill had not been confirmed at press time.

A full complement of major party candidates in Newmarket-Aurora were ready to hit the ground running this week, all of them first-timers.

Dawn Gallagher Murphy will carry the Progressive Conservative banner in Newmarket-Aurora following incumbent Christine Elliott’s decision not to seek re-election after first winning the seat in 2018 and subsequently serving as Deputy Premier and Health Minister.

Ms. Gallagher Murphy will look to defend the party’s record over the last four years against Liberal candidate Dr. Sylvain Roy, a neuropsychologist by trade, epidemiologist Denis Heng of the NDP, and University of Guelph Environmental Governance student Carolina Rodriguez for the Green Party.

In the weeks ahead, The Auroran will feature individual candidate profiles wherever possible, in addition to profiles already published on Mr. Heng, Dr. Roy, and Ms. Gallagher Murphy (available at

The series will continue in next week’s edition with Ms. Kasirlou.

The Aurora Chamber of Commerce will host a virtual candidates meeting over Zoom on Wednesday May 11 from 8 a.m. to 10 a.m. For more information and to register, visit

Additionally, on Thursday, May 12, the Aurora Public Library will host a virtual Meet the Candidates event over Zoom.

Set to be held from 7 – 9 p.m., confirmed participating candidates at press time included Ms. Kasirlou, Ms. Rodriguex, Ms. Gallagher Murphy, Dr. Roy, and Mr. Heng.

Candidates will have the opportunity to open with a short introduction to themselves. A selection of questions submitted in advance will be posed to all candidates.

If you have a question you would like to see posed to the candidates at the virtual meeting, they can be sent to Reccia Mandelcorn, the Aurora Public Library’s Manager of Community Collaboration, at

For more information on the event itself, including how to register, visit

Brock Weir, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Auroran

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting