Penticton election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Penticton election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:22 p.m.:

Dan Ashton of the BC Liberal Party has been re-elected as MLA in Penticton, keeping the seat for the party. Ashton won 5,489 out of 11,337 counted votes (48.42 per cent) with 99 of 130 polls reporting.

Toni Boot of the NDP won 3,975 votes (35.06 per cent). Ted Shumaker of the Green party won 1,508 votes (13.30 per cent). Keith MacIntyre of the Libertarian party won 365 votes (3.22 per cent).

As of 11:22 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 9,868 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 43,980 registered voters in Penticton.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:22 p.m.:

1. Dan Ashton (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 5,489 votes (48.42 per cent)

2. Toni Boot - NDP

Votes: 3,975 votes (35.06 per cent)

3. Ted Shumaker - Green party

Votes: 1,508 votes (13.30 per cent)

4. Keith MacIntyre - Libertarian party

Votes: 365 votes (3.22 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press