Port Coquitlam election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Port Coquitlam election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:22 p.m.:

Mike Farnworth of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Port Coquitlam, keeping the seat for the party. Farnworth won 9,399 out of 15,115 counted votes (62.18 per cent) with 102 of 104 polls reporting.

Mehran Zargham of the BC Liberal Party won 3,312 votes (21.91 per cent). Erik Minty of the Green party won 1,927 votes (12.75 per cent). Lewis Clarke Dahlby of the Libertarian party won 477 votes (3.16 per cent).

As of 11:22 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 9,884 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 39,648 registered voters in Port Coquitlam.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:22 p.m.:

1. Mike Farnworth (incumbent) - NDP

Votes: 9,399 votes (62.18 per cent)

2. Mehran Zargham - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 3,312 votes (21.91 per cent)

3. Erik Minty - Green party

Votes: 1,927 votes (12.75 per cent)

4. Lewis Clarke Dahlby - Libertarian party

Votes: 477 votes (3.16 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press