Prince George-Mackenzie election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Prince George-Mackenzie election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:22 p.m.:

Mike Morris of the BC Liberal Party has been re-elected as MLA in Prince George-Mackenzie, keeping the seat for the party. Morris won 6,361 out of 12,155 counted votes (52.33 per cent) with 81 of 83 polls reporting.

Joan Atkinson of the NDP won 3,874 votes (31.87 per cent). Catharine Kendall of the Green party won 1,406 votes (11.57 per cent). Dee Kranz of the Christian Heritage Party of BC won 281 votes (2.31 per cent). Raymond Rodgers of the Libertarian party won 233 votes (1.92 per cent).

As of 11:22 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 4,652 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 32,354 registered voters in Prince George-Mackenzie.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:22 p.m.:

1. Mike Morris (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 6,361 votes (52.33 per cent)

2. Joan Atkinson - NDP

Votes: 3,874 votes (31.87 per cent)

3. Catharine Kendall - Green party

Votes: 1,406 votes (11.57 per cent)

4. Dee Kranz - Christian Heritage Party of BC

Votes: 281 votes (2.31 per cent)

5. Raymond Rodgers - Libertarian party

Votes: 233 votes (1.92 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press