Province names members of new working group

·2 min read

ONTARIO – The Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks announced members of a new working group they created to deal with the recent changes to the Conservation Act.

The new members consist of people from conservation authorities, development and agriculture sectors, the Association of Municipalities of Ontario and Conservation Ontario.

The group’s first task will be to look at the first phase of proposed regulations that impact conservation authorities and their participating municipalities. These proposed regulations will be available for public consultation in late January 2021.

Maitland Conservation general manager Phil Beard told Midwestern Newspapers “MVCA’s members will be discussing the working group and process that the Minister has announced for developing the regulations on mandatory and non-mandatory services and other topics at the Jan. 27 meeting”

The working group members are:

-Chair Hassaan Basit, President and Chief Executive Officer of Halton Region Conservation Authority

-Kim Gavine, General Manager, Conservation Ontario

-John MacKenzie, Chief Executive Officer, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

-Sommer Casgrain-Robertson, General Manager, Rideau Valley Conservation Authority

-Chris Darling, Chief Administrative Officer, Central Lake Ontario Conservation Authority

-Rob Baldwin, Chief Administrative Officer, Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority

-Brian Tayler, Chief Administrative Officer, North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority

-Samantha Lawson, Chief Administrative Officer, Grand River Conservation Authority

-Cathie Brown, Senior Advisor, Association of Municipalities of Ontario

-Scott McFadden, Mayor, Township of Cavan Monaghan

*Jason Sheldon, Vice-President, Land Development, Remington Group

*Gary Gregoris, Senior Vice-President, Land Development, Mattamy Homes

*Josh Kardish, Vice-President, EQ Homes

*Michelle Sergi, Director Community Development, Region of Waterloo

*Leslie Rich, Policy and Planning Liaison, Conservation Ontario

*Barb Veale, Director, Planning and Watershed Management, Halton Region Conservation Authority

*Laurie Nelson, Director, Policy and Planning, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority

*Mark Wales, Past President, Ontario Federation of Agriculture

Participants marked with an *asterisk will provide further perspectives to the working group, including on the section 28 Minister’s regulation.

Cory Bilyea, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, Wingham Advance Times