Renfrew elected to review council payment

·2 min read

Renfrew – Robert Tremblay made his debut as the town of Renfrew’s new Chief Administrative Officer during last week’s council meeting and he wasted no time making an impact as council agreed to his report recommending staff and council conduct an internal review of council remuneration following a six-year gap of re-examining the issue.

An amendment to Section 283 of the Municipal Act states that a council review its by-law at a public meeting at least once during the four-year period corresponding to the term of office of its members after a regular election.

The last detailed review occurred in 2016 and the by-law was updated for cost of living in 2019 following changes by the federal government to the former tax-free portion of remuneration.

Mr. Tremblay reminded council when he began his employment on June 27, his contract included completion of his 2022-2023 Goals & Objectives. Among the items to be concluded was Objective 11 and it called for a review of council remuneration in 2022 for implementation in 2023.

“It is a good practice to complete a review of council remuneration in the final years of the council term for the matter to be settled prior to the start of the next council term,” he told council. “Due to timing and organizational changes, this report recommends a review conducted by staff based on selected comparators in the summer of 2022. Doing so internally can be done at no additional cost and in a timely manner.”

The proposed work plan will look at six criteria to determine suitable comparators using information from the Financial Information Return the recent census and municipal characteristics. The six areas are government type (Lower/Single Tier); population; full-time count; total expenses; tangible capital assets value and the size of council.

Arthur Smith, the town’s new treasurer who began on July 4, will compile data and a follow up report will come forward on August 9, with the necessary by-law to take effect for the 2022-2026 term of office.

The municipalities that will be used as comparators are Arnprior, Carleton Place, Gananoque, Greater Napanee; Mississippi Mills, North Glengarry, North Grenville, Perth, Petawawa and Smiths Falls.

Bruce McIntyre, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Eganville Leader

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting