The results are in...Liberals retain minority

·1 min read

The final day for Canadians to cast their ballots in the 2021 federal election was Monday, September 20 with advanced polls open Friday, September 10 to Sunday, September 12.

Liberals retained a minority government led by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

The unofficial results show the Liberals holding 158 seats, up three from 2019. Conservatives took 119 seats, down two seats from 2019; Bloc Quebecois took 34, up from 22; NDP took an extra seat from 2019 with a total of 25 seats, and Green lost a single seat, dropping to two.

In the Battle River-Crowfoot riding which encompasses the Town of Drumheller, Starland County, and a bubble of Kneehill County which includes the towns of Three Hills and Trochu, the Member of Parliament is incumbent Conservative Damien Kurek. With 251 of 252 polls reporting, Kurek received 71 per cent of the vote. NDP candidate Tonya Ratushniak received 10 per cent of votes, while People’s Party candidate Dennis Trepanier received nine per cent of votes.

This is MP Kurek’s second term serving as Member of Parliament for the riding.

To the south, in the Bow River Riding, which includes Wheatland County and southern Kneehill County, Martin Shields was elected as the Member of Parliament. 223 of 224 polls have reported with Shields receiving 70 per cent of the vote. People’s Party candidate Jonathan Bridges received 10 per cent of votes and NDP candidate Michael MacLean received nine per cent of votes.

This is Shield’s third term representing the riding since it was recreated as an electoral district from portions of the Crowfoot, Medicine Hat, and Macleod ridings in 2015.

Lacie Nairn, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Drumheller Mail

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting