Richmond-Queensborough election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Richmond-Queensborough election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:23 p.m.:

Aman Singh of the NDP has been elected as the new MLA in Richmond-Queensborough, a riding previously held by the BC Liberal Party. Singh won 5,065 out of 10,723 counted votes (47.23 per cent) with 82 of 88 polls reporting.

Jas Johal of the BC Liberal Party won 4,174 votes (38.93 per cent). Earl Einarson of the Green party won 808 votes (7.54 per cent). Kay Hale of the Conservative party won 676 votes (6.30 per cent).

As of 11:23 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 6,794 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 35,146 registered voters in Richmond-Queensborough.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:23 p.m.:

1. Aman Singh - NDP

Votes: 5,065 votes (47.23 per cent)

2. Jas Johal (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 4,174 votes (38.93 per cent)

3. Earl Einarson - Green party

Votes: 808 votes (7.54 per cent)

4. Kay Hale - Conservative party

Votes: 676 votes (6.30 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press