RMA elects Wheatland County Reeve to board of directors

·1 min read

The Rural Municipalities of Alberta (RMA) has elected Wheatland County Reeve Amber Link to the board of directors.

RMA is an independent association representing 69 counties and municipal districts in the province. They support rural municipalities through advocacy and business services.

“There are no costs Wheatland will incur with my work on the RMA Board. There are indirect benefits in terms of having a voice and connection with the provincial and federal government, as well as increased networking and collaboration opportunities,” Reeve Link told the Mail.

Reeve Link was elected to a one-year term representing Central RMA District 2, which was formerly held by newly-elected RMA President, and Ponoka County Reeve Paul McLaughlin. District 2 encompasses 13 counties and municipal districts and the Special Areas Board, which includes Wheatland County as well as Kneehill County and Starland County.

Lacie Nairn, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, The Drumheller Mail