Russia not elected to ICJ for the first time

International Court of Justice
International Court of Justice

In a historic turn of events, UN member states have for the first time denied Russia the right to adjudicate in their name at the International Court of Justice (ICJ), Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy announced on Nov. 9.

Read also: Armenian president signs ratification of ICC membership, must arrest Putin if he visits

The UN has thus "started to rid itself of the destructive influence of Russia," which undermines international law rather than protects it, Zelenskyy emphasized.

Ukraine's Permanent Representative to the UN, Sergiy Kyslytsya, called the event historical. According to him, Russia garnered only 5 to 6 votes throughout the five rounds of voting in the UN Security Council. Following the vote in the General Assembly, Russia placed next to last on the list.

Zelenskyy also congratulated representatives from Australia, Mexico, Romania, South Africa, and the United States on their victory in the UN Security Council and UN General Assembly votes.

Read also: Ukraine to demand reparations from Russia at ICJ

The ICJ is composed of 15 judges, who are separately elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council for nine-year terms. The court is located in The Hague, Netherlands.

Read also: Russia targets more ICC judges in reprisal for Hague’s charges against Putin for child abduction

The term of the Russian representative at the court, Kirill Gevorgyan, will expire in 2024.

The ICJ is currently hearing several cases involving Ukraine and Russia. In particular, public hearings began in September for Ukraine's lawsuit on genocide, with representatives from 32 UN member states joining the case.

We’re bringing the voice of Ukraine to the world. Support us with a one-time donation, or become a Patron!

Read the original article on The New Voice of Ukraine