School boards announce chair, vice-chair choices

·2 min read

Experienced trustees will lead the two largest school boards in the district after annual organizational meetings were held Tuesday.

Jay Aspin, representing Zone 1 City of North Bay, was re-elected to chair the Near North District School Board while John Cochrane, Zone 4 Parry Sound, returns as vice-chair.

At the Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board, Leo de Jourdan was acclaimed chair while Barbara McCool was re-elected vice-chair.

De Jourdan was a trustee with the NPSC from 1998 to 2003, 2013-2014, and again since December 2018. He has served on various statutory committees during his tenure and currently serves as a member of the audit committee.

McCool has served as trustee for more than 40 years, having first been elected in 1977. McCool was chair of the board from 1999-2000, from 2002-2004, and again between 2009 and November 2018. She has been involved in many initiatives during her tenure, previously serving as both member and chair of the NPSC special education advisory committee.

Aspin has a long public service resume. He served as a trustee with the Nipissing Board of Education and the NNDSB for seven terms on two separate occasions while councilor with the City of North Bay for six terms. Recently he served in the parliament of Canada as the Member of Parliament for Nipissing-Timiskaming.

Cochrane has a diverse background that includes a dozen years as a governor of the Cambrian College board, a decade as director of the Sudbury Credit Union, director of FedNor and Human Rights Commissioner.

The Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board serves approximately 2900 students in 11 elementary schools across North Bay, West Nipissing, Mattawa, Powassan and Callander, and St. Joseph-Scollard Hall Catholic Secondary School and St. Joseph Adult Education campus, in North Bay.

Near North District School Board is an English-language public school board serving the North Bay - Parry Sound - Nipissing area. The Board consists of approximately 10,000 students in 27 elementary schools, seven secondary/senior schools and various alternative learning centres.

Dave Dale is a Local Journalism Reporter with LJI is funded by the Government of Canada.

Dave Dale, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter,