Several candidates acclaimed in local RMs

·3 min read

There were a number of candidates who were elected or re-elected by acclamation ahead of the municipal elections scheduled for Nov. 9 in Rural Municipalities (RMs) around the area.

Elections were for Reeve, Division 1, Division 3 and Division 5 this election cyle.

In the RM of Duck Lake, Reeve Remi Martin and Division 3 councillor Lois McCormick were acclaimed.

In RM of Birch Hills Division 1, councillor Michael Soyland and Division 3 councillor Brad Mitchell were acclaimed.

In the RM of Buckland, re-elected by acclimation, were Reeve Don Fyrk, Division 1 councillor Arthur Brandolino, Division 3 councillor Orest Romanchuk and Division 5 Councillor Bob From. Division 4, which is vacant, will see a competition.

In the adjacent RM of Prince Albert Division 5 councillor Michael Grassick was the sole individual re-elected by acclimation.

In Shellbrook there is one competition for Division 3 while reeve Doug Oleksyn, Division 1 councillor Cliff Skauge and Division 5 councillor Derwin Joelsen were elected by acclimation.

The RM of Big River sees Division 1 councillor Douglas Panter acclaimed and there are competitions for Reeve and Division 3 councillor.

The RM of Garden River saw Reeve Ryan Scragg, Division 1 councillor Travis Podbielski and Division 3 councillor Ted Boryski acclaimed after first call for nominations. Division 5 councillor Dewell Meyers was elected after a second call for nominations was completed on Oct. 21.

The RM of Nipawin sees Reeve Dona Hoppe and Division 1 councillor re-elected by acclimation.

The RM of Porcupine all candidates were acclaimed. These included Reeve Steve Kwiatkowski, Division 1 councillor Travis Johnson and Division 3 councillor Andy Galacz, who were re-elected. In Division 5 councillor Mark Nagyl was newly elected.

In Moose Range Division 3 and Division 5 councillors were re-elected by acclamation.

The RM of Paddockwood saw Reeve Lance Fehr, Division 1 councilor Garry Sumlic and Division 3 councillor Lionel Lavoie acclaimed.

In the RM of Pleasantdale Division 1 councillor Ernest Pederson and Division 5 councillor Kris Gage were acclaimed.

In the RM of Torch River Reeve Jerry Kindrat and Division 5 councillor Richard Pickett were acclaimed.

The RM of Spiritwood saw Reeve Shirley Dauvin, Division 3 councillor Terry Wingerter and Division 5 councillor Jerome Tetrault acclaimed.

In the RM of St. Louis Reeve Emile Boutin, Division 3 councillor Ryan Topping and Division 5 councillor Rene Leblanc were acclaimed.

In the RM of Bjorkdale Reeve Glen Clarke, Division 1 councilor Brett Norum, Division 3 councillor Steven Stewart and Division 5 councillor Andris John were acclaimed.

In the RM of Flett’s Springs Reeve Murray Stevenson, Division 1 councillor Gene Miller, Division 3 councillor Tyler Stevenson is newly elected and Division 5 councillor Laurie Taylor were acclaimed.

In the RM of Star City Reeve Robert Miller, Division 1 Garry Skjerpen councillor, Division 3 councillor Mark Hodgson and Division 5 councillor Shawn Mooney.

In the RM of Canwood Reeve Lyndon Pease and Division 3 councillor Levi Schutte were acclaimed.

Candidates for the RM of Tisdale were not available for deadline. The RM of Connaught sees a competition for Reeve, Division 1, Division 3 and Division 5 councillor elections.

RM elections were on Monday, Nov. 9 depending on decisions by Returning Officers following the weekend snowstorm across the province. For results see the Nov. 19 issue of Rural Roots.

Michael Oleksyn, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter, Prince Albert Daily Herald