Shuswap election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Shuswap election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:24 p.m.:

Greg Kyllo of the BC Liberal Party has been re-elected as MLA in Shuswap, keeping the seat for the party. Kyllo won 9,609 out of 18,057 counted votes (53.21 per cent) with 103 of 109 polls reporting.

Sylvia Lindgren of the NDP won 5,708 votes (31.61 per cent). Owen Madden of the Green party won 2,740 votes (15.17 per cent).

As of 11:24 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 6,399 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 40,978 registered voters in Shuswap.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:24 p.m.:

1. Greg Kyllo (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party

Votes: 9,609 votes (53.21 per cent)

2. Sylvia Lindgren - NDP

Votes: 5,708 votes (31.61 per cent)

3. Owen Madden - Green party

Votes: 2,740 votes (15.17 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press