Parts of New Brunswick see significant snowfall

·1 min read

Snow fell in parts of New Brunswick throughout the day Saturday.

Environment Canada forecasted between 15 and 25 centimetres of snow to fall over the southern part of the province, an amount it described as significant.

Snowfall warnings were issued for the following regions: Fredericton and Southern York County, Oromocto and Sunbury County, Grand Lake and Queens County, Sussex and Kennebecasis Valley, St. Stephen and northern Charlotte County, Grand Manan and coastal Charlotte County, Fundy National Park, Saint John and county, Moncton and southeastern New Brunswick.

Environment Canada said east to northeast winds gusting up to 60 km/h could reduce visibility.

Special weather statements have also been issued for Woodstock and Carleton County, Stanley, Doaktown and Blackville, and Kent County. Those areas were expected to receive 10-15 centimetres of snow, but that could have increased if the track of the storm shifted slightly to the north, according to the weather agency.

Snowfall was expected to taper off by Saturday evening.

The public libraries in Moncton, Riverview and Dieppe closed at noon Saturday due to weather conditions.

Saint John Transit cancelled all routes starting at 4 p.m. and for the remainder of day.

For more information on closures and delays, go to Storm Centre New Brunswick.