Status quo: NASCAR's 2019 Cup Series schedule has no changes

Martinsville will host the sixth race of the 2019 season. (AP Photo/Matt Bell)

NASCAR announced the 2019 Cup Series schedule seemingly out of nowhere on Tuesday. Maybe there’s a reason for the lack of buildup; the schedule doesn’t have any changes.

The sanctioning body is prevented from making major changes to its Cup Series schedule as its in the middle of a five-year agreement it signed with the tracks that host Cup races. But being unable to change the location of any of its Cup races doesn’t prevent the series from changing the order or races or changing their dates — even moving races to evenings during the middle of the week.

NASCAR didn’t do any of that with the 2019 schedule. It looks a lot like the 2018 schedule. Here it is in all of its mundane glory.

Feb. 17: Daytona 500
Feb. 24: Atlanta
March 3: Las Vegas
March 10: Phoenix
March 17: Auto Club Speedway
March 24: Martinsville
March 31: Texas
April 7: Bristol
April 14: Richmond
April 28: Talladega
May 5: Dover
May 11: Kansas
May 18: All-Star Race
May 26: Coca-Cola 600
June 2: Pocono
June 9: Michigan
June 23: Sonoma
June 30: Chicago
July 6: Daytona
July 13: Kentucky
July 21: New Hampshire
July 28: Pocono
Aug. 4: Watkins Glen
Aug. 11: Michigan
Aug. 17: Bristol
Sept. 1: Darlington
Sept. 8: Indianapolis
Sept. 15: Las Vegas
Sept. 21: Richmond
Sept. 29: Charlotte
Oct. 6: Dover
Oct. 13: Talladega
Oct. 20: Kansas
Oct. 27: Martinsville
Nov. 3: Texas
Nov. 10: Phoenix
Nov. 17: Homestead

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is a writer for Yahoo Sports.

More from Yahoo Sports:
Pat Forde: How Villanova’s sixth man became an NCAA legend
Report: Tony Stewart reaches deal in wrongful death suit
Pete Thamel: Beilein still best college coach without a title
Eric Adelson: Why Lamar Jackson may turn into NFL’s ‘biggest travesty’