Stikine election night result

Digital Data Desk
·2 min read

VANCOUVER — Stikine election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:24 p.m.:

Nathan Cullen of the NDP has been elected as the new MLA in Stikine, keeping the seat for the party. Cullen won 2,959 out of 5,952 counted votes (49.71 per cent) with 50 of 51 polls reporting.

Gordon Sebastian of the BC Liberal Party won 1,597 votes (26.83 per cent). Rod Taylor of the Christian Heritage Party of BC won 755 votes (12.68 per cent). Darcy Repen of the Rural BC party won 641 votes (10.77 per cent).

As of 11:24 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 1,234 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 13,240 registered voters in Stikine.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:24 p.m.:

1. Nathan Cullen - NDP
Votes: 2,959 votes (49.71 per cent)

2. Gordon Sebastian - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 1,597 votes (26.83 per cent)

3. Rod Taylor - Christian Heritage Party of BC
Votes: 755 votes (12.68 per cent)

4. Darcy Repen - Rural BC party
Votes: 641 votes (10.77 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press