Surrey-Fleetwood election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Surrey-Fleetwood election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:25 p.m.:

Jagrup Brar of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Surrey-Fleetwood, keeping the seat for the party. Brar won 7,695 out of 13,000 counted votes (59.19 per cent) with 92 of 94 polls reporting.

Garry Thind of the BC Liberal Party won 4,189 votes (32.22 per cent). Dean McGee of the Green party won 1,116 votes (8.58 per cent).

As of 11:25 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 6,129 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 33,854 registered voters in Surrey-Fleetwood.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:25 p.m.:

1. Jagrup Brar (incumbent) - NDP
Votes: 7,695 votes (59.19 per cent)

2. Garry Thind - BC
Liberal Party Votes: 4,189 votes (32.22 per cent)

3. Dean McGee - Green party
Votes: 1,116 votes (8.58 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press