Surrey-Newton election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Surrey-Newton election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 11:25 p.m.:

Harry Bains of the NDP has been re-elected as MLA in Surrey-Newton, keeping the seat for the party. Bains won 3,171 out of 5,523 counted votes (57.41 per cent) with 56 of 63 polls reporting.

Paul Boparai of the BC Liberal Party won 1,814 votes (32.84 per cent). Asad Syed of the Green party won 538 votes (9.74 per cent).

As of 11:25 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 55 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 29, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 4,666 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 28,249 registered voters in Surrey-Newton.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 11:25 p.m.:

1. Harry Bains (incumbent) - NDP
Votes: 3,171 votes (57.41 per cent)

2. Paul Boparai - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 1,814 votes (32.84 per cent)

3. Asad Syed - Green party
Votes: 538 votes (9.74 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press