Surrey South election night result

Digital Data Desk
·1 min read

VANCOUVER — Surrey South election results as of Oct. 24, 2020 at 10:12 p.m.:

Stephanie Cadieux of the BC Liberal Party has been re-elected as MLA in Surrey South, keeping the seat for the party. Cadieux won 5,199 out of 11,022 counted votes (47.17 per cent) with 92 of 100 polls reporting.

Pauline Greaves of the NDP won 4,700 votes (42.64 per cent). Tim Ibbotson of the Green party won 1,123 votes (10.19 per cent).

As of 10:12 p.m., The Canadian Press is projecting the BC NDP has won a majority government. The party has won or is leading in 54 of 87 seats. The BC Liberal Party has won or is leading in 30, and the BC Green Party has won or is leading in three seats.

As of Oct. 23, 12,703 vote-by-mail packages had been issued to registered voters in the riding. There are a total of 43,485 registered voters in Surrey South.

Provincewide, 724,279 mail-in ballots have been sent out, and there are 3,485,858 registered voters.

Mail-in ballots will be counted by hand, starting in 13 days.

Full results as of 10:12 p.m.:

1. Stephanie Cadieux (incumbent) - BC Liberal Party
Votes: 5,199 votes (47.17 per cent)

2. Pauline Greaves - NDP
Votes: 4,700 votes (42.64 per cent)

3. Tim Ibbotson - Green party
Votes: 1,123 votes (10.19 per cent)

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Oct. 24, 2020, and was generated automatically.

Digital Data Desk, The Canadian Press